United States, registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit professional degree programs in architecture offered by institutions with U.S. regional accreditation, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture. A program may be granted an eight-year, three-year, or two-year term of accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established educational standards. Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may require a pre-professional undergraduate degree in architecture for admission. However, the pre-professional degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.

The Texas A&M University Department of Architecture offers the following NAAB-accredited degree program(s): 

  • Master of Architecture (pre-professional degree + 55 graduate credits)

The NAAB Accreditation visit occurred 27-29 March 2023. On 04 December 2023 we received the NAAB Decision on Continuing Accreditation of the Master of Architecture program. Based upon the review of the program, we received an 8-year term of continuing Accreditation. Our next NAAB Accreditation is scheduled for 2031.

Next accreditation visit for all programs: 2031

About the Texas A&M architecture programs

APR PART II.4 Public Information

General Disclosure

Notice to students pursuing programs that may lead to a professional license or certification required for employment.

The following programs may lead to a professional license or certification that is required for employment. Professional licensure/certification requirements vary from state to state, which may affect a student’s ability to apply for a professional license/certification upon the completion of the program. The U.S. Department of Education regulation, 34 CFR 668.43 (a) (5) (v), requires an institution to disclose whether the program will fulfill educational requirements for licensure or certification for each state. The administrative departments that offer the programs have made the following determination regarding their curriculum.

ProgramMeetsDoes not meetA determination has not been made
Master of ArchitectureAL, AK, AZ, AR, CA, CO, CT, DE, FL, GA, HI, ID, IL, IN, IA, KS, KY, LA, ME, MD, MA, MI, MN, MS, MO, MT, NE, NV, NH, NJ, NM, NY, NC, NO, OH, OK, OR, PA, RI, SC, SD, TN, TX, UT, VT, VA, WA, WV, WI, WY, DC, PR, VI, CNMI, GUAS, MH, FM, PW

Please note that American Samoa, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, and Palau (represented by the abbreviations AS, MH, FM, and PW) are not incorporated territories and do not have any licensing or certification educational requirements for the practice of Architecture. We recommend students contact the appropriate state licensing agency in their state or the state where they intend to work to seek the most up-to-date information about state licensure/certification requirements before beginning the program.

Pertinent information related to the importance of licensure in architecture can be found at https://www.ncarb.org/become-architect/basics

Additional information for architectural licensure by state and territory can be found at https://www.ncarb.org/get-licensed/licensing-requirements-tool

Texas A&M Master of Architecture Requirements