Skip to main content

Anat Geva

At a Glance

Class Year: 1995

Award Year: 2020

Degree: PhD in Architecture

Profession: Architect and Educator


Anat Geva, PhD, a registered architect in Israel and Associate Member of the American Institute of Architects (AIA) is an Emeritus Professor of Architecture in Texas A&M University where she taught undergraduate and graduate architectural design, seminars on history and design of sacred architecture, historic preservation, and history of building technology. She published and presented many articles in these areas including three books: Frank Lloyd Wright Sacred Architecture: Faith,Form, and Building Technology published by Routledge (2012); Modernism and American Mid 20th Century Sacred Architecture published by Routledge (2019); a co-edited volume with Inbal Ben-Asher Gitler, Israel as A Modern Architectural Experimental Lab, 1948-1978 published by Intellect Books Ltd (2020); and a book under contract (submitted to the pressPushing the Envelope: American Modern Synagogues (1950s-1960s) with Texas A&M University Press.

Dr. Geva also has an extensive record of editorial work. She founded and co-edited the journal of the National Council of Preservation Education, Preservation Education & Research (PER), and was a co-editor of Arris (SESAH’s Journal). She is a recipient of several awards and research grants including the prestigious James Marston Fitch National Award for innovative research in historic preservation in America; and Texas A&M University Women Faculty Network Best Mentoring Award. Dr. Geva is a Faculty Fellow of Texas A&M University’s Center of Heritage Conservation. She was one of the founders of the Forum on Architecture, Culture, and Spirituality (ACS) and served as a member on their executive committee. She also served on the Society of Architectural Historians Board of Directors, as the president of South East Society of Architectural Historians (SESAH), as past vice chair of the Construction History Society of America (CHSA), and past secretary of the National Council of Preservation Education (NCPE).