Skip to main content

Office of the Dean

The dean is the leader of the college. In addition to numerous administrative duties, the dean works collaboratively with the college's department heads, research center directors and assistant deans to develop and implement the college's myriad initiatives and realize its goals and vision. The administrative staff in the Office of the Dean supports the dean and the college at large.

Jorge Vanegas

Dean, Professor of Architecture

Jorge A. Vanegas, Ph.D., has served as dean of the Texas A&M University College of Architecture for the last 12 years. He began serving as interim dean of the college on July 9, 2008 and was appointed dean by The Texas A&M University System Board of Regents on July 17, 2009. To date, he is the longest serving dean of a college at Texas A&M University.

Dr. Vanegas holds many leadership and professional positions on top of his role as dean, including:

He also has courtesy appointments as a professor in the College of Engineering and a research professor in the Texas Engineering Experiment Station (TEES).

Dr. Vanegas has served as a technical advisor and a regular contributor to activities of different academic institutions, organizations, and companies in the United States and internationally. He has also served on multiple boards for several research and education centers. He has received national and international recognition and awards for his scholarly accomplishments in research, teaching and service. Since 1988, he has focused his scholarly and professional activities primarily on:

A registered architect in Colombia, Dr. Vanegas holds a degree in Architecture from Universidad de los Andes in Bogotá, Colombia. He earned his master of science and doctorate degrees in Construction Engineering and Management from Stanford University, California.


Associate and Assistant Deans


Shannon Van Zandt
Executive Associate Dean, Professor of Landscape Architecture & Urban Planning

Leslie Feigenbaum
Dean of International Programs and Initiatives

Deidra Davis
Associate Dean for Outreach and Diversity 

Shelley Holliday
Associate Dean of Undergraduate Students

Ann McNamara
Associate Dean of Research

Chris Novosad
Assistant Dean for Finance and Administration

Katie Reed
Assistant Dean of Graduate Students


Tommie Ward
Assistant to the Dean and Chief of Staff

Jolynn Hays
Administrative Coordinator I 

Stasha Kraguljac
Senior Administrative Coordinator II 

Loretta Mendez
Administrative Coordinator 

Shanielle Veazie
Administrative Coordinator 

Contact Information

Mailing Address
College of Architecture
3137 TAMU
College Station, Texas 77843-3137