Skip to main content

Our History 

The graduating class of 1906 was the first to receive an architectural degree from Texas A&M. The program began as part of the College of Engineering in what was then the Agricultural and Mechanical College of Texas.

In the decades to follow, the architectural program grew into a college that contains disciplines that shape and improve our natural, built, and virtual environments.

Architecture's First 50 Years at Texas A&M

In its first 50 years, Texas' first architectural education program grew from 10 to 317 students. In the course of those first five decades, it had awarded a total of 953 degrees.

During this time, new disciplines joined the Division of Architecture. The construction education program was created in 1946. Landscape architecture followed in 1957.

Founding the College of Architecture

The College of Architecture and Environmental Design was established in 1969. Along with this change in distinction, the college's academic programs continued to grow.

Throughout the next few decades, the college added more graduate programs and focused on research. The college became a place where new knowledge was created and translated into the classroom, studio and professional practice.

The visualization program was established in 1988 in response to the clear importance digital visualization was going to play in digital communication. In 2008, the unique program became its own department.


Today the College of Architecture at Texas A&M University is one of the premier design research institutions in the world. The college is distinctive in that it offers a truly interdisciplinary curriculum.

Our diverse disciplines have one commonality: the transformation of the human environment. We combine science and creativity to solve problems within our departments and research centers, institutes and laboratories.

The College of Architecture strives to remain at the forefront of research, teaching, professional education, and outreach associated with natural, built and virtual environments.